Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Warwick Medical School MB ChB teachers win three prizes at the WATE Awards


Warwick Medical School has had great success this year at the WATE Awards (Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence), winning three and making a clean sweep of the team category.

From over 400 nominations at the start of the process we are delighted to announce that our well-deserved winners are the entire MB ChB team, Richard Tunstall and Erin Fillmore from our clinical anatomy team, and GP lead Sue Davies. Congratulations to all the winners and those who were nominated in an unprecedented year.

Of all of the teaching teams in the University the MB ChB team has had a particularly challenging year, with all the challenges of running a course that can’t be fully socially distanced or remotely delivered during a pandemic and where learning happens in association with, and often fully in, the NHS – an organisation that is clearly only just starting to recover from its greatest ever challenge.

Notably, the quality and innovative approach to MB ChB online learning over this time has been fantastic, but not all the MB ChB curriculum can be taught this way. An enormous amount of work went into ensuring that clinical activity, patient care and clinical exams could be conducted safely.

In talking about the work of the whole MB ChB team, the WATE awards website reports that ‘they have built on their strengths and shown real commitment and flair to the unprecedented challenge of Covid and have delivered one of the best responses of any UK medical school.’

Sue Davies, our GP lead who organises GP teaching and placements across the curriculum, was recognised for her incredible work during the pandemic that saw her develop and implement multiple innovations to ensure high quality, accessible, online resources and safe, effective, clin ical experience in placement.

Richard Tunstall and Erin Fillmore, from our clinical anatomy team, won their award for developing inspirational curricular that has enhanced the learning process, accessibility, inclusivity, and learner experience no matter what the delivery.

Professor Sudhesh Kumar, Dean of Medicine, said: “Congratulations to all of our winners. They are incredibly well deserved in such a challenging year. You are the embodiment of teaching excellence. We are all very proud of you as you should be of yourselves. In a time where it was difficult just to keep going, you have in fact thrived and achieved great things. Well done.

To read more about this year’s award winners please visit the WATE awards webpage.