Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Past Members

Research Staff

Dr David Woodward

Dr Semen Gorfman

Dr Jeppe Christensen

Dr Jessica Marshall

Dr Quanzhong Jiang


Dr Steven Huband

Dr Aoife O'Brien

Dr Iain Dunn

Dr Kaustuv Datta

Dr Dan Baker

Dr Dean Keeble

James Smith

Dr David Stobbs

Dr Bobby Battacharya

Dr David Walker

Skylar Weber (MSc)

Dr Tom Lyford

Dr Allan Baldwin

Dr Vincent Jennings

Dr Glyn Jones

Dr Tina Latham

Peiqing Hu (MSc)

Dr Chris Eaton

Dr Martin Wormesley

Dr Simon Teat



New paper published in Phys. Rev. B. on Vibrational modes and overlap matrix of LiNb1-xTaxO3 mixed crystals.

Older news

New insight into the self-organised domains in BaTiO3 single crystals. An X-ray topography experiment and Optical Birefringence study are published in Phys. Rev. B.

Our latest PZT structural study, published in Nature Communications is highlighted at It provides the first experimental evidence for the missing phase boundary in PZT.

In collaboration with Oxford University a reproducible and low-cost method of modifying the optical properties of crystalline Lithium Tantalate enables highly accurate temperature readings, down to individual milli-kelvins, over a broad range of temperatures: -120°C to +680°C. More details here.

Selected images of optical birefringence recorded during heating of dodecasil-3C crystals from our collaboration with Richard Walton's group chosen to be the 2011 Journal of Applied Crystallography cover image.

JAC Cover image 2011

New insight into the structure of PZT published in Phys. Rev. Lett. using Neutron diffraction on single crystals which have been grown for the first time. More information can be found here.