Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Women in Physics

Women and gender minorities in Physics at Warwick

Warwick's support of women's careers in physics benefits the whole Department. The Department is working to attract women and gender minorities into Physics, both in academic and technical roles. It is also seeking to retain those who might otherwise leave a career in physics by introducing more flexibility into the workplace and, at the same time, creating a better work environment for all staff. The Women in Physics Network also hosts events throughout the year and celebrates observance days.

The University aims to promote a healthy work life balance for everyone working at Warwick. The University has produced guidelines on flexible workingLink opens in a new window for employees of the University. The Department fully supports these flexible working initiatives.

Women in Physics group photo, taken on International Women's Day March 2023.

Staff and Student Profiles
Students at Warwick - Support for Female Undergraduate Students

All undergraduate students are assigned a Personal Tutor who is a member of the Academic Staff in the Physics Department, and he or she will normally remain their tutor throughout the student's time at Warwick. The Department endeavours to ensure that whenever possible, mixed gender tutorial groups are made up of at least two female and two male undergraduates.

There may be occasions when students would like to discuss personal matters with a member of staff who is of the same gender. In these situations, female students with a male tutor can contact any of the following female members of staff: Professor Julie Staunton, Professor Sandra Chapman, Dr Susan Burrows, Dr Rachel Edwards or Professor Geetha Balakrishnan.

Please see the Departmental Undergraduate HandbookLink opens in a new window and the links therein for more details on student support

Nobel Prize Awarded WomenLink opens in a new window

Nobel Prizes awarded to women in Science.

Donna Strickland Link opens in a new windowwon the Nobel prize for Physics in 2018 alongside Arthur Ashkin and Gerard Mourou


The Nobel Prize in Physics 1903

Marie CurieLink opens in a new window with Henri Becquerel and Pierre Curie.

Notable Women in Science and MathematicsLink opens in a new window


Emmy NoetherLink opens in a new window - an outstanding mathematician of the early 20th Century.

Contributions of Women to Modern PhysicsLink opens in a new window


Prof S Jocelyn Bell Burnell working with Antony Hewish et al. discovered the pulsar.