Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Edit staff summaries

Portrait photos will display at a maximum width of 200px and/or maximum height of 150px regardless of the source image dimensions.

Arthur, Simon

Simon Arthur

PhD Sociology
Email: s.arthur.1@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Nicholas Gane & Charles Turner

Tags
PhD students

Ayres, Hannah

Hannah Ayres

PhD Sociology
Email: Hannah.Ayres@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Cath Lambert & Meleisa Ono-George

Tags
PhD students

Baltaru, Roxana

Roxana Baltarurbaltaru.jpg

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: Roxana-Diana dot Baltaru at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 75659
Room: D0.23

Research Interests: Higher Education and Society * Higher Education Governance and Organisation * Organisational Actorhood * Equality and Diversity * International Student Migration

Tags
Academic staff

Blencowe, Claire

Claire BlencoweClaire Blencowe

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: c dot blencowe at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 7615 1706
Room: E0.16

Research Interests: research in social theory, especially materialist/new materialist, feminist/queer, post-structuralist, decolonial and cultural theory; as well as contemporary and historical research on authority, colonialism/racial capitalism, bio-politics, spirituality/religion and politics, aesthetics, and creative forms of political participation.

Tags
Academic staff

Bracco Bruce, Diana

Diana Bracco Bruce

PhD Sociology
Email: D.Bracco-Bruce@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Anastasia Chambrlen & Ann Stewart

Tags
PhD students

Brown, Faye

Faye BrownFaye Brown profile picture

Taught Programmes Officer
Email: F.Brown.2@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24765 23600
Room: E0.06/Sociology Reception

Tags
Administrative staff

Carrie Benjamin

Carrie BenjaminCarrie Benjamin Image

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Email: Carrie.Benjamin@warwick.ac.uk
Room: E0.10

Tags
Postdoctoral and Senior Research Fellows

Chamberlen, Anastasia

Anastasia Chamberlen Ana Chamberlen

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: A.Chamberlen@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 765 23037
Room: D0.19

Research Interests: Sociology of Punishment; Sociology of Prisons; Feminist Criminology; Critical and Radical Criminology and Abolitionist perspectives.

Tags
Academic staff

Chang, Yu-Chen

Yu-Chen Chang

PhD Sociology
Email:: Y.Chang.2@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Lynne Pettinger & Steve Fuller

Tags
PhD students

Charles, Nickie

charlesNickie Charles

Professor and Director of the Centre for the Study of Women and Gender
Email: nickie.charles@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 28428
Room: D0.20

Research Interests: All aspects of human-animal relations and the methodologies appropriate for researching them; feminist social movements and social change; gender divisions and the relation between paid and unpaid work; families, households and kin relationships.

Tags
Academic staff

Chatzitheochari, Stella

Stella Chatzitheochari

Stella Chatzitheochari

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: s.chatzitheochari@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 22575
Room: E0.20

Research Interests: time use research, new technologies and everyday life, social stratification, disability, longitudinal and life course research

Tags
Academic staff

Chenet, Romain

Romain Chenet

PhD Sociology
Email:R.Chenet@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisor: Maria do Mar Pereira & Briony Jones

Tags
PhD students

Cherryman, Nick

Nick Cherryman

MPhil/PhD Sociology

Email: Nick.Cherryman@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Cath Lambert and Maria do Mar Pereira

Tags
PhD students

Choksi, Swanil

Swanil Choksi

MPhil/PhD

Email:

Supervisors: Goldie Osuri and Virinder Kalra

Clancy, Georgia

Georgia Clancy

ESRC IAA Postdoctoral Innovation Fellow
Email: Georgia dot Clancy at warwick dot ac dot uk

Tags
Postdoctoral and Senior Research Fellows

Clarke, Amy

Amy Clarke

Departmental Administrator (Research, Finance and Operations)
Email: Amy.Clarke@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 73671
Room: E0.04

Tags
Administrative staff

Cockburn, Cynthia

Cynthia Cockburn

Honorary Professor

Tags
Honorary and Emeritus

Eda Yazici

Eda Yazici

Research Assistant
Email: eda dot yazici at warwick dot ac dot uk

Tags
Research Assistant

Emejulu, Akwugo

AKWUGO EMEJULUAkwugo Emejulu

Professor of Sociology
Email: A.Emejulu@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24765 23085
Room: D0.10

Research Interests: racial, ethnic and gender inequalities in Europe and the United States and women of colour’s grassroots organising and activism

Tags
Academic staff

Figueroa Zimmermann, Felipe

Felipe Figueroa Zimmermann

PhD Sociology
Email: F.Figueroa-Zimmermann@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Steve Fuller & Nicholas Gane

Tags
PhD students

Flores Silva, Patricio

Patricio Silva Flores

PhD Sociology

Email

Supervisors: Alice Mah and Gonzal Calvillo

Tags
PhD students

Forrest, Tana

Tana ForrestTana

PhD Sociology
Email: t.forrest@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Hannah Jones & Khursheed Wadia

Tags
PhD students

Fox, Rebekah

Rebekah FoxPhoto of Rebekah

Leverhulme Research Fellow
Email: Rebekah.Fox@warwick.ac.uk
Room: E0.10

Tags
Postdoctoral and Senior Research Fellows

Fuller, Steve

Steve Fuller

Auguste Comte Chair in Social Epistemology in the Department of Sociology
Email: s.w.fuller@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 23940
Room: D0.01

Research Interests: Social epistemology, the future of humanity, posthumanism, transhumanism, intellectual property, knowledge management, the future of the university, the role of intellectuals in society, science-religion relations.

Tags
Academic staff

Gabe, Jon

Jon Gabe

Honorary Professor
Email: j.gabe@rhul.ac.uk

Tags
Honorary and Emeritus

Gane, Nicholas

ganeNicholas Gane

Professor of Sociology
Email: n.gane@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 73415
Room: E0.11

Research Interests:  economic sociology; the financial crisis; debt; contemporary forms of capitalism; neoliberalism and libertarianism; the history of sociology.

Tags
Academic staff

Grant Munro

Grant Munro

MPhil/PhD

Email: Grant.Munro@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Steve Fuller and Nathaniel Tkacz

Tags
PhD students

Gregory, Davinia

Davinia Gregory

PhD Sociology
Email: D.Gregory@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Hannah Jones & Elenora Belfiore

Tags
PhD students

Gulcicek, Demet

Demet Gulcicek

PhD Sociology
Email: D.Gulcicek@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Maria do Mar Pereira & Nickie Charles

Tags
PhD students

Handyside, Sarah

Sarah HandysideSarah

PhD student
Email: S.Handyside@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisor: Maria do Mar Pereira & Cath Lambert

Tags
PhD students

Ho, Chau

Chau Ho

Taught Programmes Officer
Email: C.Ho.1@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24765 24771
Room: E0.06/Sociology Reception

Tags
Administrative staff

Hussain, Ajmal

Ajmal Hussainrbaltaru.jpg

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: ajmal dot hussain at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: D0.18, Social Sciences

Tags
Academic staff

Hu, Zhengdong,

Zhengdong Hu

PhD Sociology
Email: Zhengdong.Hu@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Steve Fuller & Alice Mah

Tags
PhD students

Joly, Daniele

Daniele Joly

Emeritus Professor

Tags
Honorary and Emeritus

Jones, Hannah

jonesHannah Jones

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: h.jones.1@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)247 65 73417
Room: E0.17

Research Interests: Racism; migration control; belonging; race, nation and family; practices of policy-making; public sociology; critical and participative research methods

Tags
Academic staff

Judge, Sarah-Jane

Sarah-Jane Judge

PhD Sociology
Email: s-j.judge@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisor: Eric Jensen & Des Hewitt

Tags
PhD students

Karsli, Yasemin

Yasemin Karsli

PhD Sociology

Email:

Supervisors: Hannah Jones and Kevin Smets (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Tags
PhD students

Kelbert, Alexandra

Alexandra Kelbert

PhD Sociology

Email:Alexandra.Kelbert@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Akwugo Emejulu & Sivamohan Valluvan

Tags
PhD students

Kristin, Hubner

Kristin Hubner

PhD Sociology

Email: K.Hubner@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Nickie Charles

Lambert, Cath

CATH LAMBERTCath Lambert

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: cath.lambert@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 24675
Room: E0.13

Research Interests: Cath's teaching and research activities reflect her longstanding interest in education, and include the development of critical methods for researching, writing and teaching. Her work includes exciting projects and adventures in research, teaching, art, writing, performance, serious play and collaborations of different kinds. Cath also works in the areas of gender and sexuality

Tags
Academic staff

Lampard, Richard

Richard LampardRichard Lampard

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: richard.lampard@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 23130
Room: D0.11

Research Interests: Richard’s research lies at the sociology/demography interface, focusing on social change relating to two broad areas: (couple) relationship formation/dissolution, and social stratification. He values both quantitative and qualitative approaches, typically using the former.

Tags
Academic staff

Liebe, Ulf

Ulf Liebe

Professor of Sociology and Quantitative Methods
Director of the Warwick Q-Step Centre

Email: Ulf.Liebe@warwick.ac.uk
Room: D0.22

Tags
Academic staff

Liu, Ying

Ying Liu

PhD Sociology

Email:Y.Liu.10@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor/s: Nickie Charles

Tags
PhD students

nee, alex

Alex Nee

Website Administrator

Tags
Administrative staff

Nunez Salazar, Isabel Margarita

Isabel Margarita Nuñez Salazar

PhD Sociology

Email: I.M.Nunez-Salazar@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Nickie Charles & Carol Wolkowitz

Tags
PhD students

Obst, Marcel

Marcel Obst

Phd Sociology

Email: Marcel.Obst@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Maria do Mar Pereira & Sivamohan Valluvan

Tags
PhD students

O'Neill, Rachel

Rachel O'Neill
Rachel O'Neill image

Research Fellow in Sociology
Email: Rachel.O-Neill@warwick.ac.uk
Room: E0.10

Tags
Postdoctoral and Senior Research Fellows

Park, Sun

Sun Park

MPhil/PhD

Email: Sun.Park@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Steve Fuller and David Wright

Tags
PhD students

Pastellopoulos, Antonis

Antonis Pastelopoulos

PhD Sociology

Email:

Supervisors: John Solomos and Nisha Kapoor

Tags
PhD students

Patino Rabines, Paola

Paola Patino Rabines

PhD Sociology

Email:P.Patino-Rabines@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Cath Lambert & Claire Blencowe

Tags
PhD students

Pereira, Maria do Mar

pereiraMaria do Mar Pereira

Associate Professor
Email: m.d.m.pereira@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 24765 74742
Room: E0.19

Research Interests: Feminist theory and epistemology – Academia and Higher Education – Feminist movements – Gender and sexuality – Ethnography – Discourse Analysis – Emotions and affect – Academic labour – the dynamics of the field of Women’s, Gender, Feminist Studies – Portugal

Tags
Academic staff

Petersen, Caryn

Caryn Petersen

PhD Sociology
Email: Caryn.Petersen@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisor/s: Akwugo Emejulu & John Solomos

Tags
PhD students

Pettinger, Lynne

pettingerLynne Pettinger

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: L.Pettinger@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 765 73419
Room: E0.15

Research Interests: The sociology of work: environmental work; software and work; ethics, emotions and aesthetics in work; how work shapes (consumer) markets; informal work; work and nature; sickness and work.

Tags
Academic staff

Reehal, Rakinder

Rakinder Reehal

PhD Sociology

Email:R.Reehal@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Khursheed Wadia & Virinder Kalra

Tags
PhD students

Rospigliosi-Pallavicini, Asher

Asher Rospigliosi-Pallavicini

Sociology PhD

Emaill: A.Rospigliosi-Pallavicini@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors Lynne Pettinger & David Wright

Tags
PhD students

Schwitter, Nicole

Nicole SchwitterNicole

Research Assistant and PhD Student
Email: nicole.schwitter@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisor: Ulf Liebe

Tags
PhD students, Research Assistant

Shair Ghulam, Ali

Ali Shair Ghulam

PhD Sociology

Email:Ali.Shair@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Virinder Kalra & Sivamohan Valluvan

Tags
PhD students

Smith, Janet

smithJanet Smith

PhD Programmes Officer
Email: janet.smith@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 23147
Room: E0.06/Sociology Reception

Tags
Administrative staff

Solomos, John

solomosJohn Solomos

Professor of Sociology; Director of Research
Email: j.solomos@warwick.ac.uk
Room: E0.09

Research Interests: Sociology of Race and Racism; Race Relations in Britain; Comparative race and Ethnic Relations; Multiculturalism and Antiracism; Cities and Multiculturalism; Migration and Racism; Social Movements

Tags
Academic staff

Song, Min Young

Min Young Song

PhD Sociology

Email: Min-Young.Song@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Richard Lampard and Stella Chatzitheochari

Tags
PhD students

Thiara, Ravi

Ravi Thiara

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: R.K.Thiara@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 761 73771
Room: D0.18

Research Interests: Gender violence (especially domestic and sexual violence) and intersectionality (ethnicity, disability and age); policy and practice responses to gender violence; activism against violence against women and children.

Tags
Academic staff

Trowsdale, Jo

Jo Trowsdale

Associate Professor of SociologyJo Trowsdale image
Email: Jo.Trowsdale@warwick.ac.uk
Room: D1.29

Tags
Academic staff

Valluvan, Sivamohan

VALLUSivamohan Valluvan

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: S.Valluvan@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 23146
Room: D0.09

Research Interests: racism and ethnicity, nationalism and cosmopolitanism, consumerism, and cultural and postcolonial theory

Tags
Academic staff

Velayati, Masoumeh

Masoumeh Velayati

Visiting Associate Professor
Email: M.Velayati@warwick.ac.uk
Tel:+44 (0) 2476 523426
Room: E0.24

Tags
Honorary and Emeritus

Wadia, Khursheed

Khursheed Wadia

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: Khursheed.Wadia@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 23970
Office: D0.14

Tags
Academic staff

Wahidin, Azrini

AZRINIAzrini Wahidin

Professor of Sociology
Email: Azrini.Wahidin@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 24567
Office: D0.12

Research Interests: disability and sexuality, Trans prisoners, mentally disordered offenders, women in prison, the rise of the mental asylum and the engendering of punishment in the republic of Ireland, women in prison, BME’s and the role of drugs in prison, prisoner education, the construction of female gang members, prostitution, Child Abduction in cases of Domestic Violence and the response of the law and foreign nationals.

Tags
Academic staff

Waseem, Zoha

Zoha Waseem

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Email: Zoha dot Waseem at warwick dot ac dot uk

Tags
Academic staff

Williams, Simon

Simon Williams

Emeritus Professor

Tags
Honorary and Emeritus

Wootton, Sophie

Sophie Wootton

PhD Sociology
Email:S.Wootton.1@warwick.ac.uk
Supervisors: Nicholas Gane & Lynne Pettinger

Tags
PhD students

Wu, Yuting

Yuting Wu

PhD Sociology

Email:

Supervisors: Akwugo Emejulu and Nisha Kapoor

Tags
PhD students

Ying Wang

Ying WangYing Wang image

Research Fellow
Email: ying dot wang dot 6 at warwick dot ac dot uk

Tags
Postdoctoral and Senior Research Fellows