Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Condensed Matter Physics Seminars

CMP group seminars will usually be alternate Tuesdays at 13:00. Please email Neil Wilson with any suggestions!

2019/2020
AutumnTerm

Speaker: Dr Sian Dutton (Cambridge)
Title: Magnetism as a Probe of Functional Materials
Date:
Tuesday 26th November at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Professor Amalia Patane (Nottingham)
Title: Searching for transformative materials and quantum systems: The rise of two-dimensional indium selenide

Date: Tuesday 12th November at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Dr Budhika Mendis (Durham)
Title: Inelastic scattering in the TEM: new applications and simulation methods
Date:
Tuesday 29th October at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Dr Timur Kim (Diamond Light Source, UK )
Title: <b>Angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy of iron-based </b><b>superconductors</b>

Date:
Tuesday 15th October at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Spring Term
2018/2019
Summer Term

Speaker: Dr Dhiren Kara (Cambridge)
Title: Quantum emitters in atomically thin material
Date:
Thursday 20th June at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Professor Laura Lewis (North Eastern University)
Title:Progress Towards a New and Sustainable Advanced Permanent Magnet

Date: Tuesday 11th June at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Dr Ilie Radu (Max Born Institute Berlin)
Title: Controlling Magnetism by Light
Date:
Thursday 6th June at 14:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Speaker: Dr Gareth Parkinson (Institute of Applied Physics, TU Wien, Vienna, Austria )
Title: Single-atom catalysis: an atomic-scale view<strong></strong>

Date:
Tuesday 4th June at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

photo of Jessica Marshall

Speaker: Dr Jessica Marshall (Warwick)
Title: Novel W-B-Fe-based borides as candidate compact radiation shielding materials
Date: Tuesday 14th May at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06

Lukas Eng portrait

Speaker: Professor Lukas Eng (TU Dresden)
Title: Nanoscale Topologies &ndash; Magnetic Skyrmions, Conductive Domain Walls, and Near-Field THz Nanoscopy

Date:
Thursday 2nd May at 14:00
Room:
PS0.17

 

Speaker: Dr Joe Paddison (Cambridge)
Title: tbc

Date:
Tuesday 30th April at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

Spring Term
laura_fumagalli.jpg Speaker: Dr Laura Fumagalli (Manchester)
Title: Probing dielectric constant on the nanoscale: from thin films to DNA and two-dimensionally confined water
Date: Tuesday 26th February at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06
simon_bending_24308094030_o.jpg Speaker: Professor Simon Bending (Bath)
Title:
Vortices in Unconventional Superconductors
Date:
Tuesday 12th February at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06
 boland.jpg Speaker: Dr Jessica Boland (Manchester)
Title:
Terahertz lights up the nanoscale: Paving the way for nanotechnology via terahertz spectroscopy
Date:
Tuesday 29th January at 13:00
Room:
MAS2.06

macpherson.jpg

milot.png

Speaker: Dr Emma MacPherson and Dr Rebecca Milot (Warwick)
Title: Terahertz research at Warwick from in vivo skin imaging to perovskite characterisation
Date: Tuesday 15th January at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06
   
   
   
   
Autumn Term
ealexeev_photo.jpg Speaker: Dr Evgeny Alexeev (Sheffield)
Title: Controlling the optical properties of van der Waals heterostructures through interlayer rotation
Date: Tuesday 16th October at 13:00
Room: MAS3.06
 Gruner Speaker: Dr Thomas Gruner (Cambridge)
Title: Pronounced superconducting dome and phonon softening at a structural quantum critical point: Lu(Pt1-xPdx)2In
Date: Tuesday 30th October at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06
 cacho.jpg Speaker: Dr Cephise Cacho (Diamond Light Source)
Title: Electronic Structure of Quantum Materials by Angle-Resolved PhotoEmission Spectroscopy
Date: Tuesday 13th November at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06
 chung-mingee-230x230.jpg Speaker: Dr Mungee Chung (Birmingham)
Title: Quantum Spin Chain and Ladder
Date: Wednesday 28th November at 13:00
Room: MAS2.06
 citrin.png Speaker: Professor David Citrin (Georgia Tech)
Title: Terahertz Imaging for Nondestructive Evaluation
Date: Monday 10th December at 14:00
Room: MAS2.06