Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

About Us

As a Doctoral College we focus almost exclusively on postgraduate research students (including master’s students on a research degree).
Our aims are that:
• Warwick should be able to recruit and retain the best PGR students in the world;
• Warwick research students consistently say that the University meets (if not exceeds) their expectations;
• the Doctoral College is accessible and available when needed, and proactively intervening when appropriate; and
• the University recognises the strategic importance of research students to both education and research.

In the Doctoral College we support postgraduate researchers (PGRs) in a variety of ways:

  • We enact decisions made by the Board of Graduate Studies (Governance) which advises and makes recommendations to the Senate on all matters to do with PGRs in the University.
  • We support the research degree examination process.
  • We manage the awarding of main university scholarship
  • We support PGRs to develop their professional skills.
  • We lead and contribute to PGRs in community-building events and activities.
  • We monitor the PGR student experience through surveys and other means of evaluation.
  • We support the work of other committees handling PGR casework such as academic appeals.
  • We support initiatives to enable student international mobility.
  • We provide information, advice, guidance and practical support to colleagues and students across the university on the many aspects of postgraduate research.
  • We keep up to date on trends in PGR outside of Warwick to ensure that Warwick continues to deliver an excellent student experience.
If in doubt, ask the Doctoral College!

Our office is open from 9:30 – 16:30 (Mon-Thur) and 9:30 – 16:00 (Fri).

Academic Leadership

Academic Director and Chair of the Board of Graduate Studies

Professor Colin Sparrow, Warwick Mathematics Institute

Deputy Academic Director and Deputy Chair of the Board of Graduate Studies

Dr Christopher Bisping, School of Law

Administrative Team

Rhiannon Martyn, Head of the Doctoral College

Rebecca Vipond, CDT & PG Scholarships Coordination Manager

Michele Underwood, Research Development Manager

Stella Neophytou, Louise Sutcliffe Postgraduate Student Development Officer

Postgraduate Scholarships

Nicola Ellis-Thomas, Postgraduate Scholarships

Mitzi Ward, Scholarships Officer

Susan Black, Postgraduate Scholarships Coordinator

Research Degree Examinations and Committees

Laura Larard, Administrative Officer

Helen Brown, Doctoral College Committee and Records Assistant

Sarah Taylor, Research Degree Examinations Officer

Rebecca Lenton, Administration Assistant