Skip to main content Skip to navigation

White dwarfs, planetary remnants and the local stellar population

We study white dwarfs and local stars from the newly defined Gaia sample, including close binary stars containing compact objects. We are particularly interested in the exotic physical processes that drive their evolution, both from observational and theoretical point of views. We also study evolved planetary systems including planets, rocky debris and discs around white dwarfs. We are partners in the four large spectroscopic surveys (DESI, SDSS-V, WEAVE, and 4MOST) and members of the group have contributed to the development and exploitation of the ULTRACAM and HiPERCAM high-speed photometer.

Research news, job opportunities and possible PhD projects are shared part of the main Astronomy and Astrophysics group webpages.


Academic Staff

Name Email Research Interests  
Boris Gänsicke
(professor, ERC Advanced Grant Fellow)

Boris.Gaensicke@warwick.ac.uk

  • Planetary systems around white dwarfs
  • White dwarfs in binaries
  • White dwarfs and their links to SNIa and gravitational waves
  • Multi-object spectroscopic surveys
 

Tom Marsh
(professor)

T.R.Marsh@warwick.ac.uk
  • Binary evolution
  • High-speed CCD cameras
  • White dwarfs
  • Accretion
Danny Steeghs
(professor)
D.T.H.Steeghs@warwick.ac.uk
  • Compact objects in binaries
  • Accretion
  • Time-domain techniques
  • Gravitational wave astrophysics
  • see also Transients and SDA
 
Pier-Emmanuel Tremblay
(associate professor, ERC Starting Grant Fellow)
P-E.Tremblay@warwick.ac.uk
  • Stellar atmospheres
  • Local stellar volume
  • White dwarf evolution
  • Multi-object spectroscopic surveys
Dimitri Veras
(associate professor, STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellow)
Dimitri.Veras@colorado.edu
  • Planetary systems around white dwarfs
  • Debris discs
Deanne Coppejans
(assistant professor)
deanne.coppejans@warwick.ac.uk
  • Cataclysmic Variables
  • X-ray Binaries
  • Accretion
  • see also Transients

Research Staff

Name Email Research Interests  
Paul Chote
(research fellow)
P.Chote@warwick.ac.uk
  • Time-domain astronomy

  • Pulsating white dwarfs

  • Robotic telescopes

  • see also SDA
 
Elena Cukanovaite
(research fellow, STFC)

E.Cukanovaite.1@warwick.ac.uk

  • White dwarf model atmospheres
  • Convection
  • Stellar formation histories
 
Tim Cunningham
(research fellow, Leverhulme)
T.Cunningham@warwick.ac.uk
  • 3D radiation-hydrodynamics
  • Accretion onto white dwarfs
  • Evolved planetary systems
 
Christopher Manser
(honorary research fellow)
cmanser@ic.ac.uk
  • Planetary systems around white dwarfs
  • Debris discs
  • DESI white dwarf survey
 
Ingrid Pelisoli
(research fellow, STFC)
Ingrid.Pelisoli@warwick.ac.uk
  • Extremely low-mass white dwarfs
  • Compact binary systems
  • Hot subdwarfs
  • Photometrically variable systems
 

Postgraduate Students

Name Email Research Interests  
Anna-Maria Cutolo
(PhD student)
Anna-Maria.Cutolo@warwick.ac.uk
  • Planetary systems around white dwarfs
Abbigail Elms
(PhD student)
Abbigail.Elms@warwick.ac.uk
  • Local stellar population
  • Ultra-cool white dwarfs
  • Stellar evolution
 
Matthew Hoskin
(PhD student)
M.Hoskin@warwick.ac.uk
  • Planetary systems around white dwarfs
  • WEAVE-White dwarf survey
  • Habitability
 
Keith Inight
(PhD student)

Keith.Inight@warwick.ac.uk

  • White dwarf binaries
  • Local stellar population
  • Multi-object spectroscopic surveys
 
Thomas Killenstein
(PhD student)

T.Killestein@warwick.ac.uk

  • Machine/deep learning for time-domain astronomy
  • Multi-messenger observations of gravitational wave events
  • Astrophysical transients
 
Jack McCleery
(PhD student)

Jack.McCleery@warwick.ac.uk

  • Local stellar population
  • White dwarf evolution
  • Spectroscopy
Catriona McDonald
(PhD student)
Catriona.McDonald@warwick.ac.uk
  • White dwarf pollution and debris
  • Planetary system evolution
  • Debris discs
James Munday
(PhD student)
James.Munday@warwick.ac.uk
  • Binary white dwarfs
Mairi O'Brien
(PhD student)
Mairi.O-Brien@warwick.ac.uk
  • White dwarf spectroscopy
  • Local stellar volume