This guide gives an overview of how to access your Echo360 content, how the content is organised, how to edit content details and availability, and how to permanently remove content from the system.
In this guide:
- Accessing Echo360 content
- Content structure in Echo360
- Making media unavailable or available
- Editing video (or audio) content
- Deleting media
Accessing Echo360 content
We recommend that you access Echo360 via Moodle. You can get to Echo360 by clicking on the Lecture Capture block on the right-hand side of a Moodle space where the block has been added.
If you are a member of WBS, you can also click the Lecture Recordings tab in MyWBS.
If your content is not published to any particular module, you will find it in your Library.
Content structure in Echo360
Your content in Echo is found in one of two places: your Library or under Courses.
Your media Library holds all of the media you can view outside of a course, so may contain recordings made using Universal Capture or videos you have uploaded from your computer. It contains both media you own as well as any media that another user has shared with you.
In general, courses are named after Warwick modules. This page lists all of the modules which you have been given access to. If you are an editing teacher, course leader or manager on a module space in Moodle and have clicked on the Lecture Capture (Echo360) block, you will automatically be given Instructor access in Echo360.
Each course/module that you have access to is divided into classes. Classes act as containers for the content presented to students - such as audio or video recordings of lectures ('lecture captures') and uploaded presentations (PPT or PDF files). If you have recorded slides as part of your lecture capture or universal capture, you do not have to upload the slides again unless you want to provide them as a separate file for students to annotate.
A class is automatically created when you schedule a lecture capture recording but you can also add classes manually (via the New class button).
If media is published to a class, the class has an icon for the type of media it is: video/audio or a presentation (or Interactive Media - media that has embedded polling questions - but this is covered in another guide).
- Green or highlighted icons indicate that the media is available to students.
- Light grey icons indicate that there will be video/audio for that class, probably a lecture capture of the class, but it has not yet happened and is therefore not yet present. This merely indicates a holding slot for the video that is scheduled to appear there.
- Dark grey icons indicate that media has been published to the class but is currently unavailable to students.
Where either of these media types are missing, they can be added via the blue plus sign icon. See Echo360's guide on Adding Media to a Class from the Class List.
To the far right are options to:
- Edit class - to amend the name, description or date/time
- Delete class - this deletes all associated content from the class. Content you 'own' will still appear in your Library but it is recommended that you do not delete classes; change the availability of the associated media instead.
Making media unavailable or available
For content associated with a course/module, you are able to hide it from students. You can only edit the availability of your audio/video recordings and presentations if you are recognised as an Instructor of the module in Echo360.
If you have scheduled lecture capture or are the registered course leader and have lecture captures scheduled for you, the Echo360 system will recognise you as the owner of this content.
If you are unsure whether you are the owner or if you wish to make changes to content you are not the owner of please contact your departmental Academic Technology team or the central team for further guidance via firstname.lastname@example.org
- From the Moodle module space, click on the Lecture Capture block to open the 'class list' i.e. the list of recordings.
- Click on the green/grey media icon (either the video or presentation) and select Make unavailable or Make Available depending on its current state and what you would like it to be.
Note that you can set the availability according to date.
- Click on the media icon and select the Availability Settings option. Selecting this will open a pane allowing you to set a date for the media to become available or unavailable.
- Tick the On a specific date option to bring up a text field to enter a date in the format YYYY-MM-DD. Clicking within this text field will also open a calendar allowing you to select a date.
- Once you are finished click the Update button to save your changes.
Editing video (or audio) content
You can edit your Echo360 recordings to remove sections that you may not want to publish, such as confidential information, or trim the start or end of the recordings. Click on the media icon and Edit Video to access this function. See the separate guide Edit Echo360 recordings.
While you can control the visibility of Echo360 content, you may prefer to delete it completely. You can delete any media that you have uploaded directly or captured with Universal Capture.
The option to delete any media recorded using the in-room lecture capture service is only available to system administrators. Once deleted, recordings are permanently deleted from the system. It is not possible to retrieve a recording once it has been deleted.
Due to the irreversible nature of deletion, a request for deletion will require the consent of both the content owner and the head of department responsible for delivery of the course.
Before requesting a deletion you need to consider if permanent removal of this content has the potential to negatively impact another member of the university. Examples of individuals who may be impacted are:
- Members of staff responsible for delivery of material
- Students required to resit or request a reasonable adjustment
To request permanent deletion of a recording, email email@example.com with the following information:
- The recording(s) title, date and time (be accurate, once a recording is deleted, you won't be able to retrieve it).
You can follow the previous steps to make the content unavailable while your request is being processed.
- Introduction to managing course participants
- Enrolment methods and managing access permissions
- Roles and their functions in Moodle
- Use groups and groupings
- Import and populate groups
- Enable activity completion
- Mark activity completion manually
- Track activity completion
- Course completion
- Course participation
- Introduction to assessment and feedback
- Create a fail / pass scale
- Create a custom certificate
- Create and manage badges
- Reports, logs and completion data in Moodle
- Introduction to eStream
- Access your eStream content
- Uploading videos to eStream
- Edit videos in eStream
- Edit video thumbnail
- Uploading a closed captions (subtitles) file to eStream
- Add eStream videos to Mahara
- Sharing eStream videos to Moodle
- Sharing an eStream video with a link
- Setup a video assignment in Moodle
- Introduction to Echo360
- Getting started with Echo360 Lecture Capture
- Getting started with Universal Capture (Personal)