Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Add written content using text and notes

Text blocks and notes, alongside journals, are used to add written content to your portfolio.

Text blocks are typically used to add 'snippets' of content specific to a page, where content is not needed to be reused in another location. If you do need to use the text elsewhere, you will need to copy the content into a new text block at the new location.

Notes are text that you can re-use from one portfolio page in another without having to copy the entire page.

Add text to your page

Text blocks are not reusable. They are not limited to text - images, links etc. can also be added using the standard editor.

  1. Turn on editing on a page using the pencil  edit icon at the top right.
  2. Drag and drop the Text block onto one of the grey content areas on the page.
  3. A window will 'fly-in' from the right where you can, optionally, change the block title.
  4. Add text and other content using the editor in the Block content section.
  5. Add tags.
  6. Click Save.

Add a note to a page

In contrast to text, notes are reusable. They are created on the page and stored in the Notes section of the Create menu.

  1. Turn on editing on a page using the pencil  edit icon at the top right.
  2. Expand the General section of the blocks menu.
  3. Drag and drop the Note block onto one of the grey content areas on the page.
  4. Add text and other content using the editor in the Block content section.
  5. Add Tags. This is really useful if you want to reuse this content in other pages so that you can easily find the note again or use it to create a page from Tags.
  6. Click Save.

View, edit and delete notes

Notes are stored in the Notes section of the Create menu.

  1. Click on the main menu icon, expand the Create section, and select Journals.
  2. This Notes page shows all the notes created using the Notes block for your account.
    • Click on the Edit icon to make changes to a note. When changes are made to a note, all instances of this note will be updated wherever they appear on a page.
    • Click on the Delete icon next to the note to be deleted. The note will be deleted without further warning - this action cannot be undone and all instances of the note are deleted permanently.

The information on this page relates to Mahara 19.04 and was last updated May 2020.

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content