Skip to main content Skip to navigation

National Graphical Association

The National Graphical Association (NGA) was formed in 1963 by the amalgamation of the Typographical Association and the London Typographical Society. It absorbed the National Union of Press Telegraphists and the Association of Correctors of the Press in 1965, the National Society of Electrotypers and Stereotypers in 1967, and the Amalgamated Society of Lithographic Printers in 1969. In 1982 it amalgamated with the Society of Lithographic Artists, Designers, Engravers and Process Workers (SLADE) and was thereafter officially known as the National Graphical Association (1982).

In 1991 it amalgamated with the Society of Graphical and Allied Trades (SOGAT) to form the Graphical, Paper and Media Union (GPMU).

The NGA had branches throughout England, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, but not in Scotland, which was exclusively covered by the Scottish Graphical Association and later by SOGAT.

Deceased members

The monthly Graphical Journal from 1964 to 1966 (MSS.39/NGA/4/1/1-3) contains obituaries of deceased members, with name, branch, age and date of death.