Skip to main content

Edit staff summaries

04, Angouri, Jo

AngouriJo Angouri
Professor / Director of Undergraduate Studies

Room: S1.95

Tel: +44 (0)24 761 51811

Email: J.Angouri@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Academic and teaching staff

07, French, Jonathan

J FrenchJonathan French
Business Development Manager

Room: S1.94

Tel: +44 (0)24 7657 4459

Email: J.French.1@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Administrative staff

07, Lefringhausen, Katharina

KatharinaKatharina Lefringhausen
Assistant Professor

Room: A0.13

Tel: +44 (0)24 761 50908

Email: K.Lefringhausen@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Academic and teaching staff

07, Taylor, Jillian

Jillian TaylorJillian Taylor
Finance & Business Manager

Room: S1.78

Tel: +44 (0)24 765 23846

Email: J.Taylor.13@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Administrative staff

Abdallah, Wagdi Gabreldar Mahil

abdallah.jpgWagdi Gabreldar Mahil Abdallah
Research student

Areas: English as Additional Language (EAL) in primary schools, Intercultural Adaption, including issues of new arrivals, migrants and refugees, and English Learning and Teaching of Children.

Supervisors: Dr Annamaria Pinter & Dr. Troy McConachy

Email: W.Abdallah@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Abdul Fatah, Farhana

Farhana Abdul FatahFarhana Abdul Fatah
Research student

Areas: Identity negotiation and construction; discursive and social identity; Muslim women and the veil

Supervised by Dr. Stephanie Schnurr & Dr. Malcolm MacDonald

Email: F.Abdul-Fatah@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Abdulhaleem, Ebtesam

EbtesamEbtesam Abdulhaleem
Research student

Areas: Needs Analysis; Language testing and assessment; Adopting CEFR in different contexts; EAP and ESP

Supervised by Dr Neil Murray (University of Warwick) and Dr Claudia Harsch (University of Bremen)

Email: E.AbdulHaleem@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Al Rawahi, Abdullah

Abdullah Al RawahiAbdullah Al Rawahi
Research student

Areas: teacher research engagement.

Supervisors: Dr. Richard Smith & Dr Annamaria Pinter

Email: A.Al-Rawahi@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Alansari, Suha

SuhaSuha Alansari
Research student

Areas: social semiotics, multimodality and textbook research

Supervised by Dr Richard Smith

Email: S.Alansari@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Alibaba, Ayten

ayten.jpgAyten Alibaba
Research student

Areas: Modern diasporas, Space and place, Belonging and identity

Supervised by Dr Jo Angouri and Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: A.Alibaba@warwick.ac.uk

Date
Friday, 14 October 2016
Tags
Research students

Anderson, Jason

Jason AndersonJason Anderson
Research student

Areas: Teacher expertise in low-income countries; pre-service teacher education; in-service teacher development; translingualism and multilingualism in language teaching; non-native speaker teachers - support and advocacy for (esp. in teacher education); language teaching methodology.

Supervised by Dr. Richard Smith

Email: j.anderson.8@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Aoyama, Takumi

takumi.pngTakumi Aoyama
Research student

Areas: Second Language Acquisition; L2 learner psychology; Research synthesis on L2 motivation

Supervised by Dr. Ema Ushioda & Dr. Troy McConachy

Email: t.aoyama@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Banks, Sarah

Sara BanksSarah Banks
Research student

Areas: Reflective Practice; Personal Development in Higher Education; Corpus Linguistics and Content Analysis

Supervised by Dr Sue Wharton

Email: S.L.Banks@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Beetz, Johannes

BeetzJohannes Beetz
Research Student

Areas: Critical Theory and Post-Structuralism; Discourse Studies; Science Studies

Supervised by: Professor Johannes Angermuller

Email: j.beetz@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Cai, Xiaozhe

SherryXiaozhe Cai
Research student

Areas: Mixed-culture groupwork; Intercultural communication, Internationalisation of HE

Supervised by Dr Neil Murray and Dr Daniel Dauber

Email: Xiaozhe.Cai@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Cajas Quishpe, Diego Christian

DiegoDiego Christian Cajas Quishpe
Research student

Areas: Language policy and curricular innovation in higher education

Supervised by Dr Neil Murray

Email: D.C.Cajas-Quishpe@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Cheng, Catherine

Catherine ChengCatherine Cheng
Research student

Areas: motivation, imagination, emotion and self development

Supervisors: Dr. Ema Ushioda & Dr. Steve Mann

Email: jielei.cheng@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Chimbwete-Phiri, Rachel

RachelRachel Chimbwete-Phiri
Research student

Areas: Health Communication; Medical Discourse; Language, literacy & culture

Supervised by Dr Schnurr and Dr MacDonald

Email: R.Chimbwete-Phiri@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Clayton, Daniel

ClaytonDaniel Clayton
Research student

Areas: Acculturation in Elite Sport; Teamwork; Intercultural Communication

Supervised by Dr Jo Angouri

Email: D.Clayton@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Consoli, Sal

sal_145.pngSal Consoli
Research student

Areas: English for Academic Purposes (EAP); Teaching and Learning in Higher Education; Motivational issues in Education

Supervised by Dr. Ema Ushioda & Dr. Annamaria Pinter

Email: S.Consoli@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Cortazzi, Martin

CortazziMartin Cortazzi
Honorary Associate Professor

Email: M.Cortazzi@warwick.ac.uk 

Tags
Academic and teaching staff

Debray, Carolin

DebrayCarolin Debray
Research student

Areas: Intercultural communication, interpersonal pragmatics & teamwork

Supervised by Prof. Helen Spencer-Oatey & Dr Daniel Dauber

Email: C.Debray@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Doukmak, Reem

ReemReem Doukmak
Research student

Areas: Teaching through drama, refugee education, action research

Supervised by Dr Steve Mann

Email: R.Doukmak@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Efthymiadou, Christina

christina.jpgChristina Efthymiadou
Research student

Areas: Intercultural communication; professional discourse; workplace relations and trust; Identity construction; discourse analysis

Supervised by Dr Jo Angouri

Email: C.Efthymiadou@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

French, Claire

clare_frech_145-145.pngClaire French
Research student

Areas: Shifting language through performance: towards multilingual methodologies

Supervised by Dr Yvette Hutchison & Dr Jo Angouri

Email: c.french.1@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Ghounaim, Samiah

photo_not_available_v2.pngSamiah Ghounaim
Research student

Areas: Teacher development, Interpersonal competence in language classrooms

Supervised by Dr. Steve Mann & Dr. Annamaria Pinter

Email: S.Ghounaim@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Greenaway, Thomas

TomThomas Greenaway
Research student

Areas: Intercultural teamwork in higher education; EAL in British schools; Integration on university campuses

Supervised by Prof. Helen Spencer-Oatey

Email: T.Greenaway@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Haghi, Saeede

HaghiSaeede Haghi
Research student

Areas: Formative assessment; Assessing listening for academic purposes; Post-enrollment language assessment

Supervised by Dr Neil Murray

Email: S.S.Haghi@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Hah, Sixian

SixianHah Sixian
Research Student

Areas: Academic discourse; Applied conversation analysis; Knowledge construction

Supervised by Professor Johannes Angermuller

Email: s.hah@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Hsieh, I-Chen

I-Chen_HsiehI-Chen Hsieh
Research student

Areas: teacher professional development, intercultural communication, language policy.

Supervised by Dr. Steve Mann & Dr. Ema Ushioda

Email: arielxie@gmail.com

Tags
Research students

Huang, Lan-Ting

Lan-Ting, HuangLan-Ting, Huang
Research student

Areas: Corrective feedback and learner uptake; Second language acquisition; English for young learners

Supervised by Dr Annamaria Pinter

Email: Lan-Ting.Huang@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Humonen, Kristina

KristinaKristina Humonen
Research student

Areas: Business discourse, intercultural communication, sociolinguistics

Supervised by Dr Jo Angouri & Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: K.Humonen@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Jhina, Anisha

anisha_jhina_145.jpgAnisha Jhina
Research student

Areas: Culture, Communication, Global business, Diversity

Supervised by Prof. Helen Spencer-Oatey

Email: A.Jhina@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Kedveš, Ana

Ana Ana Kedveš
Research student

Areas: critical discourse analysis; corpus-assisted media studies; discourse on minorities

Supervised by Dr Sue Wharton

Email: A.Kedves@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Khamkhien, Attapol

AttapolAttapol Khamkhien
Research student

Areas: tbc

Supervised by Dr Sue Wharton

Email: A.Khamkhien@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Kim, Kyoung-Mi

KimKyoung-Mi Kim
Research student

Areas: Workplace interaction in multinational contexts; Discoure Studies; Interdisciplinary Studies

Supervised by Dr. Jo Angouri and Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: Kyoungmi.Kim@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Lees, Duncan

duncan_lees_145.jpgDuncan Lees
Research student

Areas: Drama and literature in ESL contexts; Shakespeare in (higher) education

Supervised by Prof. Joe Winston (Centre for Education Studies) & Dr Steve Mann

Email: D.Lees.1@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Lewis, Rachel

LewisRachel Lewis
Research student

Areas: Political discourse analysis; Citizenship; Politics of belonging

Supervised by Dr Malcolm MacDonald

Email: R.Lewis.3@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Md Hashim, Shafiq Hizwari

shafiq.jpgShafiq Hizwari Md Hashim
Research student

Areas: Discourse Analysis, Genre Analysis

Supervised by Prof. Johannes Angermuller and Dr. Sue Wharton

Email: S.Md Hashim@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Mesinioti, Polina

polina.jpgPolina Mesinioti
Research student

Areas: Theoretical Linguistics, Sociolinguistics and Healthcare Interaction

Supervised by Dr Jo Angouri and Dr Dimitris Siassakos (North Bristol Trust)

Email: P.Mesinioti@warwick.ac.uk

 

Tags
Research students

Nakayama, Asami

asami_nakayama1.jpgAsami Nakayama

Research student

Areas: Identity construction and L2 motivation of Japanese learners; interview and narrative analysis; study abroad

Supervised by Dr Ema Ushioda and Dr Neil Murray

Tags
Research students

Ness, Simon

Simon NessSimon Ness
Research student

Areas: Motivation; Teacher development; ID variables

Supervised by Dr Ema Ushioda

Email: S.A.Ness@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Nguyen, Rose

Rose Nguyen 3Rose Nguyen
Research student

Areas: Critical Discourse Analysis; Power and Moral Discourse; Classroom interaction; Conversation analysis

Supervised by Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: T.H.N.Nguyen@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Nor Azikin Mohd Omar

NorNor Azikin Mohd Omar
Research Student

Areas: Workplace discourse; Leadership; Communities of practice

Supervised by Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: n.a.mohd-omar@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Park, Heeyang

Heyyang Park hHeeyang Park
Research student

Areas: Research with children; Teaching English to young learners (TEYL); Early literacy development

Supervised by Dr Annamaria Pinter

Email: H.Park@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Rodríguez-Escobar, Claudia

Claudia Rodríguez EscobarClaudia Rodríguez-Escobar
Research student

Areas: teacher education and development, reflective practice, second/foreign language acquisition and learning

Supervisors: Dr. Steve Mann & Dr. Sue Wharton

Email: C.Rodriguez-Escobar@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Salvi, Ana Inés

AnaAna Inés Salvi
Research student

Areas: Criticality, arts-enriched methods, practitioner research

Supervised by Dr Richard Smith

Email: ana.salvi@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Schwab, Veit

SchwabVeit Schwab
Research student

Areas: Critical Migration Studies; Discourse Theory & Analysis; Post-structuralist and critical theories in Politics and International Relations

Supervised by Prof. Angermuller

Email: V.Schwab@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Skuse, George

SkuseGeorge Skuse
Research student

Areas: tbc

Supervised by Dr Steve Mann

Email: G.E.Skuse@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Tabali Marin, Pia Carolina

Tabali MarinPia Carolina Tabali Marin
Research student

Areas: tbc

Supervised by Dr Annamaria Pinter

Email:

Tags
Research students

Vargas Gil, Ernesto

evgErnesto Vargas Gil
Research student

Areas: Teacher Autonomy; Language Teacher Education; Contemporary Education Reform

Supervisors: Dr Richard Smith and Dr Sue Wharton

Email: G.E.Vargas-Gil@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Wang, Zi

Zi_WANG.jpgZi Wang
Research student

Areas: language learning motivation; simultaneous language learning; multilingualism

Supervisors: Dr. Ema Ushioda & Dr. Troy McConachy

Email: Z.Wang.52@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Weetman, Katherine

WeetmanKatherine Weetman
Research student

Areas: Health communication, medical discourse, written discourse studies

Supervised by Dr Stephanie Schnurr & Prof Jeremy Dale

Email: K.Weetman@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Williams, Alison

photo_not_available_v2.pngAlison Williams
Research student

Areas: info not available

Supervised by Dr Neil Murray

Email: A.L.Williams@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Wolfers, Sol

sol_wolfers_145.jpgSol Wolfers
Research student

Areas: Intercultural team communication; Sports team discourse; Identity construction; Discourse analysis

Supervised by Dr Kieran File & Dr Stephanie Schnurr

Email: S.Wolfers@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Zainal, Saiful Izwan

SaifulSaiful Izwan Zainal
Research student

Areas: Teacher Cognition, Digital Literacy, New Literacies

Supervisors: Dr. Richard Smith & Dr. Ema Ushioda

Email: S.Zainal@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students

Zamri, Norazrin

ZamriNorazrin Zamri
Research student

Areas: Discourse Analysis, Motherhood Discourses, Motherhood Identity Construction

Supervised by Dr Stephanie Schnurr & Dr Jo Angouri

Email: N.Zamri@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Research students