Skip to main content

Edit staff summaries

Portrait photos will display at a maximum width of 200px and/or maximum height of 150px regardless of the source image dimensions.

Akova, Firat

Firat Akova

Thesis Title: Effective Altruism and Extreme Poverty

Email: F.Akova@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors : Fabienne Peter and Felix Pinkert

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Ansell-Pearson, Keith

Keith Ansell-PearsonKeith Ansell-Pearson

Professor of Philosophy, Convenor MA Continental Philosophy

Email: k dot j dot ansell-pearson at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 7652 2327
Room: S2.44

Research supervisory interests: modern European philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Barry, Lucy Clare

Lucy Clare Barry

Thesis Title: Authenticity, Intersubjectivity and the role of the ineffable

Email: L.C.Barry@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Peter Poellner and Diarmuid Costello

Tags
PhD students

Bazzurro Gambi, Leonello

Leonello Bazzurro Gambi

Thesis Title: TBC

Email: L.Bazzurro-Gambi@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Miguel Beistegui

Tags
PhD students

Beistegui, Miguel

Miguel Beistegui Miguel Beistegui

Professor of Philosophy

Email: M dot J dot Beistegui at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 7652 4960
Room: S2.56

Research interests: '20th Century German & French Philosophy (Heidegger, Deleuze and Foucault); philosophy and literature (Proust, metaphor and tragedy); the ethics and politics of desire.

Tags
Academic staff

Brownlee, Kimberley

Kimberley Brownlee Kimberley Brownlee

Professor of Philosophy - On Research leave

Email: k dot brownlee at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: S2.54

Tel: 44 (0) 24765 75449

Research interests: Moral, political and legal philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Butterfill, Stephen

Stephen Butterfill Stephen Butterfill

Professor of Philosophy

Email: s dot butterfill at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7652 2085
Room: S2.48

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of Mind, Psychology

Tags
Academic staff

Carneiro, Diogo

Diogo Carneiro

Thesis Title: Social Justice and Intersubjectivity

Email: D.Carneiro@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Fabienne Peter

Tags
PhD students

Cassam, Quassim

Quassim Cassam

Professor of Philosophy

Email: q dot cassam at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 76522 953
Room: S2.45

Research supervisory interests: Kant, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind.

Tags
Academic staff

Clarke, Jackie

Jackie Clarke

Director of Administration (Philosophy, Politics and International Studies, and Sociology)

Email: j.smith.4@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)24 765 73167

Room: S1.52

Tags
Administrative staff

Costello, Diarmuid

Diarmuid Costello Diarmuid Costello

Professor of Philosophy

Email: D dot Costello at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: S2.47

Research supervisory interests: Post-Kantian Continental Aesthetics, Contemporary Analytic Philosophy of Art, Recent Theories of Art and Photography

Tags
Academic staff

Courage, Kate Williams

Kate Williams Courage

Academic Support Librarian ( Philosophy)

Email: kate.courage@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)24 765 28151

Tags
Administrative staff

Cox, Victoria

Victoria Cox Victoria Cox

Undergraduate Programmes Officer

Email: victoria.cox@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44(0)24 765 73312

Tags
Administrative staff

Crowther, Thomas

Thomas Crowther

Associate Professor

Email:t dot crowther at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: S2.52

Research supervisory interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Aristotle

Tags
Academic staff

Dean, Walter

Walter Dean

Associate Professor

Email: W dot H dot Dean at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7615 0966
Room: S2.70

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of Mathematics, Philosophy of Logic, Mathematical Logic

Tags
Academic staff

Eilan, Naomi

Naomi Eilan

Professor of Philosophy

Email: n dot eilan at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7652 2136
Room: S.2.60

Research supervisory interests: Consciousness and self consciousness; philosophy of mind; philosophy of psychology; metaphysics; Wittgenstein

Tags
Academic staff

Fernandes, Alison

Alison Fernandesafernandes1.png

AHRC Postdoctoral Fellow - 'Time: Between Metaphysics and Psychology’

Email: A.Fernandes.1@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.39

Tags
Research Fellow

Fulford, Bill

Bill Fulford

Director of Philosophy and Mental Health, Warwick Medical School

Email: k.w.m.fulford@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Associate and visiting fellows

Galazoulas, Karolos

Karolos, Galazoulas

Thesis Title: TBC

Email: K.Galazoulas@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell-Pearson

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Ganitsky, Tania

Tania Ganitsky

Thesis Title: A Common Solitude: Literature and Community in Emily Dickinson and Paul Celan

Email: T.Ganitsky@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Miguel Beistegui and Dan Katz

Tags
PhD students

Gaydon, Philip

Philip Gaydon

Thesis Title: Proving the existence and usefulness of artistic knowledge with a focus on C19th children's literature

Email: p.k.gaydon@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor:Eileen John and Jackie Labbe

Tags
PhD students

Giavazzi, Michele

Michele Giavazzi

Thesis title: Democracy and Epistocracy. The epistocratic challenge to democratic theory

Email: M.Giavazzi@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Fabienne Peter

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Godwin, Matthew

Matthew Godwin

Thesis Title: Sophia and Poesis: Poetry and the Aesthetics of Language in Nietzsche’s Free Spirit Project

Email: M.R.Godwin@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell Pearson and Peter Poellner

Tags
PhD students

Gow, Laura

Laura GowLaura Gow

Teaching Fellow

Email: L.Gow@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.63

Research Interests: Philosophy of Perception, in particular the metaphysics of perceptual experience, and in considering the implications of endorsing a genuinely physicalist account of the mind.

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow

Hargeaves, Emily

Emily Hargreaves

Departmental Administrator

(Research, Teaching & Learning)

Email: E.Hargreaves@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.64

Tel: +44 (0)24 765 22320

Tags
Administrative staff

Harrington, Rachel

Rachel Harrington Rachel Harrington

Postgraduate Programmes Officer

Email: pgphilsec@warwick.ac.uk (general enquiries)

Tel: +44 (0)24 761 50522

Tags
Administrative staff

Hoerl, Christoph

Christoph Hoerl

Professor of Philosophy - On research leave

Email: C dot Hoerl at warwick dot ac dot uk
Phone: +44 (0)24 7652 2476
Room: S2.51

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology, Epistemology, Metaphysics

Tags
Academic staff

Houlgate, Stephen

Stephen Houlgate

Professor of Philosophy

Email: Stephen dot Houlgate at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 7652 3320
Room: S2.46

Research supervisory interests: Kant, Hegel, German Idealism; Nietzsche, Derrida; History of Modern Philosophy (esp. Spinoza)

Tags
Academic staff

Jakusic, Dino

Dino Jakusic

Thesis Title: The Possibility of Ontology

Email: Dino.Jakusic@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Migeul Beistegui and Stephen Houlgate

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

James, David

David James

Assistant Professor - On research leave

Email: D dot N dot James at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: S2.72

Research supervisory interests: German Idealism, Rousseau, Political philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Jeong, Jihun

Jihun Jeong

Nietzsche's Way to Establish the Whole

Email: J.Jeong@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell Pearson

Tags
PhD students

John, Eileen

Eileen John Eileen John

Associate Professor

Email: eileen dot john at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7657 2527
Room: S2.59

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of literature, aesthetics, art and values

Tags
Academic staff

Kane, Kate

Kate Kane

Marketing Officer (Philosophy, Politics and International Studies, Sociology)

Email: kate.kane@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S.154

Tags
Administrative staff

Kay, James

James Kay

Thesis Title: Hegel and Spinoza on Thought and Nature

Email: J.R.Kay@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Stephen Houlgate

Tags
PhD students

Kreetz, Tristan

Tristan Kreetz

Thesis Title: The temporal properties of wakeful experience

Email: T.Kreetz@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Tom Crowther

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Lerman, Hemdat

Hemdat Lerman

Teaching Fellow

Room: S2.39

Associate Fellow of the Consciousness and Self-Consciousness Research Centre

Email: h.lerman@warwick.ac.uk

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow

Longworth, Guy

Guy Longworth Guy Longworth

Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning

Email: G dot H dot Longworth at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44(0)24 765 24543
Room: S2.53

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of Language and Linguistics, Epistemology, Early 20th Century Analytic Philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Luntley, Michael

Michael Luntley

Professor of Philosophy

Email: michael dot luntley at warwick dot ac dot uk

Research supervisory interests: Wittgenstein, Philosophy of Thought, Metaphysics of Reasons and Values

Tags
Associate and visiting fellows

Mandrigin, Alisa

Alisa MandriginAlisa Mandrigin

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Email: A dot Mandrigin at warwick dot ac dot uk

Research interests: philosophy of mind, connecting with issues in epistemology and the philosophy of action.

Tags
Research Fellow

Matthews, Sarah

Sarah Matthews

Sarah Matthews

Senior Marketing Assistant

Philosophy, Politics and International Studies, and Sociology

Email: sarah.matthews.1@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44(0) 2476 528567

Room: S1.54

Tags
Academic staff

McClelland, Tom

Tom McClelland

Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow

Email:  T dot McClelland at warwick dot ac dot uk

Room: S2.43

Tags
Academic staff, Research Fellow

Mcdade, Pedro

Pedro Mcdade

Thesis Title: The Ethics of Gift, Reciprocity and Cooperation in Economics

Email: P.McDade@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Fabienne Peter

Tags
PhD students

Middlemiss, Ben

Ben Middlemiss

Thesis Title: TBC

Email: B.Middlemiss@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell-Pearson

Tags
PhD students

Moore, Kieran

Kieran Moore

IT Support Officer for Philosophy, PAIS and Sociology

Email: Kieran.Moore@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 24761 50264

Room: D1.27

Tags
Administrative staff

Niklas, Filip

Filip Niklas

Thesis Title: Ontological Commitments in Ethics

Email: F.Niklas@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Stephen Houlgate

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Nudds, Matthew

Matthew Nudds Matthew Nudds

Chair of Social Science Faculty & Professor of Philosophy

Email: matthew dot nudds at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44(0)24 7652 2581
Room: S2.63

Research supervisory interests: Philosophy of Mind and Psychology, Philosophy of Perception (especially the senses), Philosophy of Language

Tags
Academic staff

Parker, Jayne

Jayne Parker

Project Administrator (ERC)

Email: Jayne.Parker@warwick.ac.uk

Room: E2.27

Tel: 0044 (0) 24765 28035

Normal days of work are Wednesday and Thursday

Tags
Administrative staff

Peter, Fabienne

Fabienne PeterFabienne Peter

Professor of Philosophy & Head of Department

Email: F dot Peter at warwick dot ac dot uk
Room: S2.57

Research supervisory interests: moral and political philosophy, philosophy of economics

Tags
Academic staff, Head of Department

Pinkert, Felix

Felix Pinkert Felix Pinkert

Assistant Professor On research leave in term 1

Email: F dot Pinkert at warwick dot ac dot uk

Room: S2.58

Research supervisory interests: moral, political and social philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Poellner, Peter

Peter Poellner

Professor of Philosophy On research leave in term 1 & 3

Email: P dot A dot Poellner at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7652 2623
Room: S2.50

Research supervisory interests: Phenomenology, Philosophy of Value, Philosophy of Mind, Husserl, Nietzsche

Tags
Academic staff

Roessler, Johannes

Johannes Roessler

Associate Professor On research leave in term 2
Email: J.Roessler@warwick.ac.uk
Tel: 44 (0)24 7652 2503
Room: S2.55

Research supervisory interests: Epistemology, philosophy of mind and action (esp. perceptual knowledge, self-knowledge, rational explanation)

Tags
Academic staff

Russell-Smith, Christopher

Christopher Russell-Smith

Thesis Title: The Relation between Hegel's conception of 'Bad Infinity' and his 'Empty Formalism Objection' to Kantian and Fichtean moral philosophy

Email: C.Russell-Smith@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Stephen Houlgate

Tags
PhD students

Serini, Lorenzo

Lorenzo Serini

Thesis Title: Nietzsche's Philosophy of Belief: His Sceptical Therapy for Scepticism

Email: L.Serini@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell-Pearson

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Simecek, Karen

Karen Simecek Karen Simecek

Director of Student Experience and Progression

Email: K dot D dot Simecek at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44(0)24 7652 4321
Room: S2.61

Research interests: Philosophy of Literature (esp. poetry), Aesthetics, Moral Reasoning and the Emotions

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow

Simpson, Clare

Clare Simpson

PA to Head of Department

Email: Clare.Simpson@warwick.ac.uk

Room S2.66

Tel: 02476 150816

Normal working hours: Monday-Wednesday 9:30am-3.00pm and Thursdays 9:30am-12:45pm

Tags
Administrative staff

Sorell, Tom

Tom Sorell

Professor of Politics and Philosophy

Email: t dot e dot sorell at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44(0)2476 528 031
Room: B1.41
Advice and Feedback Hours: Tuesdays 11am

Research supervisory interests: Descartes; Hobbes; historiography of early modern philosophy; naturalism; moral theory and applied ethics; contemporary liberal political philosophy; history of political philosophy; the relation between philosophy and natural science

Tags
Academic staff

Surgener, Kirk

Kirk Surgener Kirk Surgener

Director of Student Experience and Progression (PPE)

Email: K.A.Surgener@warwick.ac.uk

Research supervisory interests: political, moral, legal as well as metaethical questions and issues in the philosophy of language

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow

Taylor, Sarah

Sarah TaylorSarah Taylor

Programmes and Finance Co-ordinator

Email: sarah.j.taylor@warwick.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)24 765 23421

Tags
Administrative staff

Tomlin, Patrick

Patrick tomlinPatrick Tomlin

Reader in Philosophy, Director of Politics, Philosophy, and Law (PPL)

Email: Patrick.Tomlin@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.43

Research interests: Political, Moral, and Legal Philosophy

Tags
Academic staff

Underwood, Alex

Alex Underwood

Thesis Title: 'More than parts: Deleuze, liberalism and the fragmented self'

Email: A.Underwood@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Miguel Beistegui

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Upadhyaya, Kartik

Kartik, Upadhyaya

Thesis Title: On the normative significance of hypocrisy

Email: K.Upadhyaya@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Kimberley Brownlee

Tags
PhD students, Sessional Teacher

Vanello, Daniel

Daniel Vanello

Thesis Title: The phenomenology of motivation:"Emotions,Values, and Motivation: a phenomenological perspective"

Email: d.vanello@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisors: Peter Poellner and Matthew Soteriou

Tags
PhD students

Venables, Melissa

Melissa Venables

PPS Admissions Officer (Postgraduate)

Email: M.J.Wolfe@Warwick.ac.uk

Normal days of work are Monday to Wednesday

Tags
Administrative staff

Wanyama, Alex Mulongo

Alex Mulongo Wanyama

Thesis Title: A "Cosmopolitan" Nietzsche: in relation to Kant's Cosmopolitanism with pertinence to African ethno-philosophical context.

Email: A.Wanyama@warwick.ac.uk

Supervisor: Keith Ansell

Tags
PhD students

Woods, David

David WoodsDavid Woods

Teaching Fellow with academic responsibility within the department for admissions, outreach and recruitment activities.

Email: d.woods@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.54

Research Interests: Schopenhauer, pessimism, evil, punishment

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow

Wyman, Tom

Tom Whyman

Teaching Fellow

Email: T.Whyman@warwick.ac.uk

Room: S2.50

Research Interests: Ethical naturalism, the philosophy of nature, radical social and political theory (especially Adorno), Marx, Kierkegaard's political thought, and Bruce Chatwin on nomadism.

Tags
Academic staff, Teaching Fellow