Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Edit your course

This guide explains how to turn on editing in a Moodle space where you have editing permissions, and provides a summary of the tasks this enables.

Turn Editing On

In order to add, delete or move content in your Moodle space you must turn on editing:

  1. Click on the action menu under the gear icon on the top right.
  2. Choose the second option 'turn editing on' from the menu to enable editing for the Moodle space.
  3. New icons and options will appear on the page to add, edit and move resources.

This menu also explains how to get access to change the course format.

If you cannot see the gear icon, your role does not have editing rights. You must be at least an Editing Teacher.

With editing on, this guide covers how you can:

For more specific editing tasks, please see the separate guides on:

Add resources to the Moodle space

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Click on 'Add an activity or resource'.
  3. Choose an activity or resource from the menu and click 'Add'.

For more information on this see Introduction to adding content.

Add blocks to the Moodle space

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the navigation menu on the left hand side.
  3. Click on 'Add a block'.
  4. Choose the type of block you require from the menu. The menu will close and the block will appear in the right hand column.

For more information on this see Add a block.

Move resources and blocks

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Click and hold the move icon
  3. Drag and drop the resource in its new location. Activities and resources can only be moved within the central section of the page. Blocks can only be moved within the right column.

For more information on this see Move or delete a block.

Indent resources

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Click 'Edit' on the right-hand side of any resource
  3. Click 'Move right' to indent within a section.
  4. Click 'Move left' to remove an indent.

Hide or delete resources

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Click 'Edit' on the right-hand side of any resource
  3. Click 'Hide' to hide the resource completely or;
  4. Click 'Hide' and then click 'Make available' so that hidden items can be linked to from elsewhere but not be visible on the page.
  5. Click 'Delete' to permanently delete an activity or resource - this cannot be undone so please use carefully.

Duplicate resources

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Click 'Edit' on the right-hand side of any resource
  3. Click 'Duplicate' to copy an activity or resource.

The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.6 and was last updated March 2020
​ ​

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content