Restore deleted content
If an activity or resource is deleted from a Moodle space, it is kept in the Recycle bin for seven days before being permanently deleted.
Only users with editing roles i.e. Editing teacher, Course leader or Manager can restore deleted items.
In this guide:
Restoring deleted items from the Recycle bin
- In the Moodle space where you have deleted items, click on the Actions menu in the top right-hand corner.
- Click Recycle bin.
- The recycle bin will list all activities and resources that have been deleted within the last seven days. Click the Restore button for the item(s) you want to retrieve.
- If you cannot immediately see items that you have recently deleted, wait a few minutes and refresh the page.
The items will not be restored to their original locations. They will be restored to the bottom of the section from where they were deleted.
Alternatively, you can click the icon to delete the item(s) permanently.
Any original access restriction settings will be restored along with resources and activities.
Items will be permanently deleted after seven days. If you require something to be restored after this time, please email firstname.lastname@example.org
What cannot be restored?
While most content can be restored, there are certain items that will not be saved in the recycle bin.
- External tool links - although the 'activity' will be saved in the bin and can be restored, you may need to re-establish links to certain resources. This includes links to Echo360 and Talis Aspire. Click on the links after restoring to make sure they link to the correct place.
- Blocks - beware of deleting HTML blocks in particular as these may have been significantly configured.
- Section summaries - if you delete a whole section, the activities and resources will be retained in the recycle bin. However, the summary text will not be retrievable.
- Activity components or entries - e.g. individual forum posts, book chapters, quiz attempts, database entries.
We recommend hiding activities and resources and ensuring that you are certain you want to remove them before deleting them.
The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.10 and was last updated November 2021.
- Introduction to assessment and feedback
- Create a custom certificate
- Create and manage badges
- Reports, logs and completion data in Moodle
- Introduction to eStream
- Access your eStream content
- Uploading videos to eStream
- Edit videos in eStream
- Edit video thumbnail
- Uploading a closed captions (subtitles) file to eStream
- Add eStream videos to Mahara
- Sharing eStream videos to Moodle
- Sharing an eStream video with a link
- Setup a video assignment in Moodle
- Introduction to Echo360
- Getting started with Echo360 Lecture Capture
- Getting started with Universal Capture (Personal)